How to disable Snap Map on Snapchat

Snap Map Privacy Settings

There’s been a huge backlash over the past week regarding the roll out of Snapchat’s new ‘Snap Map’ feature. The release of the new feature and in particular the quiet way it’s been rolled out has been heavily criticised by parents and child welfare groups alike.

Snapchat believes it’s a fun a convenient way to keep connected with your friends, others, however, find it just plain creepy and dangerous. You can make your own mind up.

Things to know about Snap Map

  • It’s an opt in service –  you have to enable it for it to work
  • If you decide to enable it, you can set levels of who can see you – all your friends, select friends, or only me (ghost mode)
  • Enabling ‘ghost mode’ will enable you to see others but they can’t see you – however, Snapchat will still collect your location data
  • When running Snapchat for the first after the upgrade a step-by-step tutorial on how to use the Snap Map will appear.

How do you know Snap Map is disabled?

  1. Open Snapchat on the device in question
  2. Make sure you’re in ‘Camera’ mode
  3. Pinch the screen, you should see the following image. This shows it’s disabled.

Snapchat snap map feature

Disable location services altogether for Snapchat and Snap Map (iOS)

  1. Go to settings > Privacy
  2. Then go to Location Services (if this is not enabled then you’re OK to stop here)
  3. Scroll down your list of applications to find Snapchat
  4. Change the setting to ‘Never’ – See the image below.

Location settings page iOS

If you’ve any thoughts or comments on the new ‘Snap Map’ functionality then drop me a line here or on Twitter

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*